top of page

Cranbrook House & Gardens

While visiting family in Michigan last month, my mother-in-law planned a visit to Cranbrook House & Gardens. Cranbrook is the oldest manor house in the Detroit metro area and is surrounded by 40 acres of lovely gardens.

The garden was divided into sections each with its own theme and color palette. Trollius (globeflower) was one of the highlights of the warm golds, apricots, and oranges that surrounded the reflecting pool.

I can't seem to remember ever seeing a double flowering poppy before. I certainly don't think I could forget it now that I have! Soft pink is never my favorite but isn't this one a stunner?!

Finally, the world's most perfect climbing hydrangea? Quite possibly so.

This garden is run by volunteers which is impressive. 40 acres is a lot to keep up. Visit before they close for the winter (open May-October). The 2016 season has free admission so there's no excuse!

Meet Kait

Horticulturist. Designer. Traveler. Mom. Baker. Clog Lover. 

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Get More
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
bottom of page